Preventing Injury

I have been suffering from a rhomboid injury. 


The rhomboid is a muscle underneath what I call the “chicken wing” or shoulder blade and it is painful when inflamed. Pole dancing uses this muscle a lot and I overuse mine because I fail to switch arms when pole dancing. Even though I’m left-handed, my dominant pole arm is my right. It seems to be a common injury in pole dancers, as many girls said they had the same pain.

I have been treating it with ice packs, aleve, cbd oil, and arnica gel. The ice is essential. Also, I have to continue treating it even when I believe it’s gone (because it comes back!).

I would like to advise new pole dancers to make sure their muscles are properly developed prior to jumping on the pole. Work out at the gym or get a trainer. Do everything possible to condition your body before jumping into pole dancing. Develop your upper body and make sure you can at least do pull ups. 

If the gym isn’t your style, start in a level one class and work your way up slowly through the ranks. I don’t recommend skipping a level even if you think you wanna save money because you’re “more advanced”. Your muscles still need that slow development. I tend to jump headfirst into everything and doing that with pole dancing has kept me at home on a Friday night due to injury when I could be making money! Luckily it’s fixable and I can continue pole dancing more safely and properly for my body so that I can prevent future injuries. 

I strongly believe that exotic dancers, especially pole dancers, should treat their bodies the same way athletes do. I am going to make an appointment with a cryotherapist. Cryotherapy is a method for reducing pain and inflammation in the body through the use of low temperatures. If this works for me I’m going to possibly recommend it to other girls because I believe many dancers are dealing with inflammation in their bodies without knowing it. 

Helping dancers heal and fuel their bodies is a passion of mine. I want to help fill the gaps of what’s missing in their lives to better improve their well-being.

💜

Author: idancebymagnolia

Join me in my 2nd year as a stripper in Denver to see how a 26 year old exotic dancer pays off student loans.

Leave a Reply

